Skip to content

Beauty catches us by surprise: the Yoga of MoMA

December 29, 2009

There’s such a simple beauty in the

Music Movement Sound & Light.

Beauty: Yoga at the MoMA with Elena Brower, Pipilotti Rist, Cinematic Orchestra (music & light)

In October, I was in New York and had a blast “yoga shopping”. That’s my loving term for trying out different studios, teachers, and styles. I asked for recommendations and ran with them. My final class was with Elena Brower, an Anusara teacher at ViraYoga. I dragged my luggage down and around Prince Street up to the packed loft. Maybe classes of 60+ are the norm in New York, but I struggled to find personal space and not feel claustrophobic.

We focused on the sacrum. I admired the ease with which Elena was able to defer to the anatomy expertise of a student in the middle of class, readjust her understanding of anatomy, and thus change her verbal cueing. Her chic (decidedly non-lululemon) dress of skinny jeans and a billowy shirt were forgotten as I got lost in my breath. Music? Bodies in resonance to 90min of live didgeridoo.This was the best class I’d taken in a year. I bought ripe figs on my walk up Penn Station to catch my bus home. My yoga high lasted a week.

I love this video taken at the Piplotti Rist “Pour Your Body Out” installation at the Museum of Modern Art in February 2009. Lately I’ve been playing its song  “To Build a Home” (Feat Patrick Watson) by Cinematic Orchestra in class.

I revel in its colors, its quiet, its beauty.

Its breath.

Movement Sound Light Art.

Something simple.

Here’s to beauty in the New Year.

Leave your beauty in comments below.

Bookmark and Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • :: Newsletter. Blog. RSS. Feed. ::

  • :: YogaInTheSky on Twitter ::

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • :: Latest Posts ::

